INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

The weaving error of the world
- why there is matter and not rather nothing

If one looks into the mirror, then one expects that the mirror image reflects his own face symmetrically. This is not always the case in particle physics. Particles and antiparticles do not behave like mirror images to each other. This fact is likely one important condition for our existence, the stars, the galaxies. One assumes that matter and antimatter have existed in equal parts after the Big Bang. If this equilibrium would have remained, then both would have destroyed themselves in enormous energy lightning and our current cosmos would consist only of radiation (light). Thus, at a certain point, there must have been created somehow an imbalance, the physical “mirror image” must have behaved somewhat differently. Today, particle physicists follow this glimpse in the mirror without counterpart. Since there is no more anti-matter, it needs to be created in particle accelerators as e.g. at the SLAC (Stanford Linear Accelerator Center).

In 1964 the American physicists Christenson, Cronin, Fitch and Turlay discovered at an accelerator a tiny irregularity with the decay of an exotic unstable particle, the K-Mesons (also calles Kaons). One calls this mysterious effect CP-violation. CP corresponds to charge and parity. P stands for the ordinary space reflection. C stands for the exchange of all particles by their antiparticles.

With experiments such as BaBar (see illustration of the detector above) at SLAC it is currently studied whether this symmetry violation can be observed also in other particles. High-energetic electrons hit their antiparticles, positrons, in head-on collisions. From the resulting energy new particles are created, among others B-Mesons and their antiparticles. The analysis of approximately 200 million decays of these B-Mesons shows that CP-violation is also observed for these particles.

Five german institutes (University of Bochum, University of Dortmund, TU Dresden, University of Heidelberg and University of Rostock) are members of the international BaBar collaboration with around 600 physicists.The BaBar group at the TU Dresden taking part at the art façade project participates in the analysis of the data as well as calibration and the monitoring of the electromagnetic calorimeter of the BaBar experiment. The detector generates a volume of data of approx. 30 TByte per year. The amount of simulated detector data, produced with hundreds of processors, is even about a factor of three larger. Since this data set requires enormous computing resources and are hard to handle, German BaBar groups are likewise active in the so-called grid-computing grid-computing.

"Wired" - the online monitor to observe the so called 'events':

Images are exported in near realtime from "Wired" to the art façade:

Links:
BaBar official project site

interactions.org - Particle Physics News and Ressources

Special Thanks to:
Heiko Lacker, Andreas Petzold (TU Dresden) & Joseph Perl (SLAC), Steve Sekula (MIT)

INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

Der Webfehler der Welt
- warum es auf der Welt Materie gibt und nicht vielmehr Nichts

Wenn man in den Spiegel schaut, so geht man davon aus, daß das eigen Gesicht spiegelbildlich reflektiert wird. Daß dies in der Teilchenphysik nicht immer so ist, daß sich Teilchen und Antiteilchen nicht immer spiegelbildlich zueinander verhalten, dem haben wir in einem gewissen Sinne "spiegelbildlich"unsere Existenz , Sterne, Galixien überhaupt erst zu verdanken. Zwar geht man davon aus, daß gleichviel Materie und Antimaterie nach dem Urknall existiert haben soll, wäre es bei diesem Gleichgewicht geblieben, so hätten sich beide in einem gewaltigen Energieblitz gegenseitig vernichtet und unser heutiger Kosmos bestände nur aus Strahlung (Licht). Es mußte also zu einem Ungleichgewicht gekommen sein, das physikalische "Spiegelbild" muß also sich also etwas anders verhalten haben als sein "Spiegelbild". Diesem Zwinkern im Spiegel ohne Gegenpart gehen heute Teilchenphysiker nach. Da es keine Antimaterie mehr gibt, wird diese in Teilchenbeschleunigern wie z.B. am SLAC (Stanford Linear Accelerator Center) hergestellt.

1964 entdeckten die amerikanischen Physiker Christenson, Cronin, Fitch und Turlay an einem Beschleuniger eine winzige Unregelmäßigkeit beim Zerfall eines exotischen instabilen Teilchens, des K-Mesons (auch Kaon genannt). Diesen bisher geheimnisvollen Effekt nennt man CP-Verletzung. CP entspricht charge parity. P steht für die Raumspiegelung, was man also im alltäglichen unter Spiegelung versteht. C steht für die Vertauschung aller Teilchen durch ihre Anti-Teilchen.

Bei Experimenten wie BaBar (s. Abbildung des Detektors oben) am SLAC wird nun untersucht, ob diese Symmetrie-Verletzung sich auch für andere Teilchen feststellen läßt. Dort werden speziell Elektronen und ihre Antiteilchen – Positronen – mit hoher Geschwindigkeit aufeinander geschossen. Aus der frei werdenden Energie entstehen neue Teilchen, unter anderem B-Mesonen und ihre Antiteilchen. Die Untersuchung von rund 200 Millionen Zerfällen dieser B-Mesonen zeigt, daß die CP-Verletzung auch für diese Teilchen auftritt.

Fünf deutsche Institute (Universität Bochum, Universität Dortmund, TU Dresden, Universität Heidelberg und Universität Rostock) sind Mitglieder in der internationalen BaBar Kollaboration mit rund 600 Physikern. Die beim Projekt an der Kunstfassade beteiligte BaBar-Gruppe der TU-Dresden beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse der Daten sowie Kalibrierung und Monitorierung des elektromagnetischen Kalorimeters des BaBar-Experiments. Der Detektor liefert ein Datenvolumen von ca. 30 TByte jährlich. Hinzu kommt etwa die gleiche Datenmenge an simulierten Ereignissen. Da diese Datenmenge mit herkömmlichen Methoden kaum mehr zu verarbeiten ist, nehmen die deutschen BaBar-Gruppen ebenfalls an der Entwicklung im sogenannten GRID -Computing teil.

"Wired" - der Monitor, mit dem sich die sogenannten Events beobachten lassen:

Von "Wired" werden in Echtzeit auch die Bilder für die Kunstfassade exportiert:

Links:
BaBar official project site
wissenschaft.de: Stanford-Teilchenbeschleuniger bestätigt Unsymmetrie zwischen Materie und Antimaterie
heise.de: Materie und Antimaterie
BMF-Themenheft: Reise zum Urknall
interactions.org - Particle Physics News and Ressources

Besonderen Dank an:
Heiko Lacker, Andreas Petzold (TU Dresden) & Joseph Perl (SLAC), Steve Sekula (MIT)