INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

Radio Signals from Penticton - listening to the heart beat of our Galaxy

The scientific research within the Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR) in Bonn comprises stellar physics, the physics of galaxies and the large-scale universe. Research topics include star formation, young stellar objects, late stages of stellar evolution and pulsars, furthermore the interstellar medium of the Milky Way and external galaxies and physics of the Galactic center and its direct environment.


Images: Maik Wolleben & MPIfR

The radio telescopes of the MPIfR include the 100 meter radio telescope near Effelsberg (see figure) and the new 12 meter APEX telescope at 5000 meter altitude in the Chilean Atacama desert. Technical departments of the institute are developing receivers also for other radio and infrared telescopes, e.g. the airborne observatory SOFIA, the infrared satellite Herschel and the optical/near infrared interferometers VLTI and LBT.

At art façade the map of polarized radio emission of the complete northern sky, a research project of Mark Wolleben is presented. The image shows a part of the radiation in this part, the so called "North Polar Spur", probably a rest of a close super nova extending on the northern sky. Images like this are the result of an intensive process of collecting and evaluating data. Presenting the raw data from four different channels at the art façade the way there is documented live.

Maik Wolleben is a doctoral student at MPIfR. Observations for his research project, are performed with the 26 meter radio telescope of DRAO (Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory, National Research Council, Canada). DRAO/NRC is a radioastronomical research institute close to Penticton in British columbia in the western part of Canada. Besides the 26 meter radio telescope, the principal instrument of the institute is the Synthesis Radio Telescope, which comprises seven 9m dishes switched together in interferometer mode. One of the main research projects is the Canadian Galactic Plane Survey - a large-scale and very detailed survey of hydrogen gas in our galaxy. (Norbert Junkes)

Superposition of the four transmitted channels of the 26 meter radio telescope

Links:
Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR), Bonn/Germany
Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory (DRAO/NRC), Penticton/Canada
Project Site of Maik Wolleben

Gallery of Radio Telescopes
Basics of Radio Astronomy/ NASA

INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation

ENGLISH

Radiopuls aus Penticton - dem Herzschlag der Milchstraße lauschen

Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgebiete des Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR/ Bonn) umfassen die Erforschung der Physik von Sternen, Galaxien und des Universums. Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind unter anderem Sternentstehung, junge stellare Objekte, Sterne in späten Entwicklungsstadien und Pulsare. Dazu gehören auch das interstellare Medium unserer Milchstraße und anderer Galaxien, sowie das galaktische Zentrum und seine Umgebung.


Bilder: Maik Wolleben und MPIfR

Das MPIfR betreibt das 100-m-Radioteleskop Effelsberg (s. Abb. oben) und das neue 12-m-APEX Teleskop in 5000 m Höhe in Chile. In den technischen Abteilungen des Instituts werden Empfänger auch zum Einsatz an anderen Teleskopen gebaut, z.B. dem Flugzeug-Observatorium SOFIA, dem Infrarot-Satelliten Herschel oder den optischen Interferometern VLTI und LBT.

An der Kunstfassade ist das Forschungsprojekt "Polarisierte Radiostrahlung des gesamten nördlichen Himmels" von Maik Wolleben zu sehen. Das Bild zeigt einen Teil dieser Strahlung im Bereich des so genannten "North Polar Spur", vermutlich ein naher Supernova-Überrest, der sich über einen Großteil des nördlichen Himmels erstreckt. Bilder wie diese sind Ergebnis eines intensiven Sammelns und Auswertens von Daten. An der Kunstfassade wird mit der Darstellung der Rohdaten aus vier unterschiedlichen Kanšlen der Weg dahin live dokumentiert.

Maik Wolleben ist Doktorand am MPIfR. Sein Forschungsprojekt, die Kartierung der polarisierten Radiostrahlung des gesamten nördlichen Himmels, wird mit dem 26-m-Radioteleskop am Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory, National Research Council, Canada durchgeführt. Das DRAO/NRC ist ein radioastronomisches Forschungsinstitut bei Penticton in der Provinz British Columbia im Westen von Kanada. Neben dem 26-m-Radioteleskop als Einzelinstrument betreibt es darüber hinaus eine Reihe von sieben kleineren Radioteleskopen, die als Interferometer oder Synthese-Instrument zusammengeschaltet eingesetzt werden. Zu den Hauptforschungsprojekten gehören eine Radiokartierung der Milchstraße (Canadian Galactic Plane Survey), bei der auch die Verteilung des Wasserstoffs in unserer Milchstraße untersucht wird. (Norbert Junkes)

Überlagerung der vier übertragenen Kanäle des 26-m-Radioteleskops

Links:
Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR), Bonn/Germany
Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory (DRAO/NRC), Penticton/Canada
Projektseite von Maik Wolleben

Gallery of Radio Telescopes
Basics of Radio Astronomy/ NASA