INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

Particle collisions in Batavia

Matter and antimatter have opposite charge. When particles and antiparticles collide, they annihilate and mass is transformed into energy. The energy released in such collisions can produce other, perhaps unknown particles. The particle physicists at Fermilab, near Chicago, operate the world's most powerful machine, the Tevatron, to produce collisions of protons and antiprotons. In a four-mile ring the particles crash into each other at a speed of 99.99996 percent of the speed of light. Every collision exposes the building blocks of a proton and an antiproton -- quarks, antiquarks and gluons -- and leads to the production of hundreds of new particles, which decay within a fraction of a second. The particles produce electrical signals in Fermilab's particle detectors CDF and D0, "cameras" as big as a house. The 6000-ton instruments register the tracks and properties of the particles emerging from each collision.

Analyzing the date of millions of collisions, physicists are studying the fundamental processes that are responsible for the production of new particles. In 1995, Fermilab discovered the top quark, an elementary particle that is as heavy as a gold atom. Yet it is much smaller than a proton. The discovery of such elementary particles provides clues to the processes that happened within a millionth of a microsecond after the big bang and that have deeply influenced the evolution of our universe.

In each of the collisions shown here there could be a top quark -- or perhaps a yet-to-be-discovered particle. 25 percent of all energy and mass of our universe consists of dark matter. Only the most powerful particle accelerators might some day be capable of producing the building blocks of dark matter. (Prof. Michael Kobel)

The DO Experiment:

The CDF Experiment:

Links:
Mainpage of the Fermilab
Liveevents at the Fermilab
Database of similar experiments from the whole world

INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

Teilchencrash in Batavia

Kollidieren Materieteilchen mit ihren Antiteilchen, den entsprechenden Partnern aus Antimaterie mit umgekehrter Ladung, so vernichten sich beide. Aus der dabei frei werdenden Energie können andere, möglicherweise bisher unbekannte Teilchen entstehen. Die Teilchenphysiker am Fermilab bei Chicago besitzen die derzeit stärkste Maschine zur Kollision von Protonen und Antiprotonen, das Tevatron, bei dem die Protonen und Neutronen mit 0,9999996facher Lichtgeschwindigkeit aufeinander zurasen. Aus den Bestandteilen der Protonen und Antiprotonen, den Quarks, Antiquarks und Gluonen entstehen so jedesmal Hunderte neuer Teilchen, die gleich darauf wieder zerfallen und ihre Spuren und Einträge in hausgroßen Nachweisgeräten, den Teilchendetektoren der Experimente CDF und D0 hinterlassen.

In Millionen von Ereignissen sucht man nach einzelnen Prozessen, in denen zum Beispiel Top Quarks entstanden sind, Elementarteilchen so schwer wie ein ganzes Goldatom. Sie wurden hier 1995 entdeckt, und sollen nun genau vermessen werden. Gleichzeitig sucht man aber auch nach bisher unbekannten Teilchen, für deren Existenz es nur indirekte Anzeichen gibt, und denen die Teilchenphysiker Namen wie Neutralino, Chargino oder Higgs Boson gegeben haben.

In jedem der gerade aufgenommenen Ereignissen könnte sich prinzipiell eine solche Entdeckung verstecken, die Aufschluß über Prozesse gibt, die eine Millionstel Mikrosekunde nach dem Urknall passiert sind, aber unser heutiges Universum entscheidend geprägt haben.(Prof. Michael Kobel)

Das DO-Experiment:

Das CDF-Experiment:

Links:
Hauptseite des Fermilab
Liveevents am Fermilab
Datenbank mit Bildern zu Teilchenkollisionen von Experimenten aus der ganzen Welt