INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

RHIC and the new state of matter

The Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC) at Brookhaven National Laboratory is an international scientific research facility that began operation in 2000, following 10 years of development and construction. Thousands of physicists from around the world use RHIC to study what the universe may have looked like in the first few moments after its creation. They do this by colliding ions at very high energies to recreate the hot, dense conditions of the early universe, and studying what comes out. While many RHIC collisions will produce interesting results, a rare few are expected to create something even more special: a new form of matter. Actually, it's not new to the universe, just to human eyes. It's thought to have existed ten millionths of a second after the Big Bang at the dawn of the universe (15 to 20 billion years ago). It may also exist in the cores of very dense stars called neutron stars. This form of matter is called quark-gluon plasma or QGP. What physicists learn from these collisions may help us understand more about why the physical world works the way it does, from the smallest subatomic particles, to the largest stars.

At the moment, experimental physicists have constructed four large experiments at RHIC, with more planned for the future. The two largest experiments, STAR and PHENIX, have more than 500 members each. The two smaller ones, BRAHMS and PHOBOS, have dozens of members.

RHIC's ion beams travel at 99.995% of the speed of light (186,000 miles per second, or 300,000,000 meters per second) on a collision course and, for a fleeting instant when they collide, heat the matter to more than a billion times the temperature of the sun. In so doing, thousands of particles are created, each leaving a telltale trace electrical charge along its path as it passes through the experimental detectors. The beam is usually composed of heavy gold ions: in 20 years of running, RHIC will use less than one gram of gold for its research program.

The STAR experiment
STAR is an acronym for Solenoidal Tracker At RTracker refers to STAR's ability to reconstruct (or "track") particle trajectories over a large distance, providing particle identification and momentum determination capabilities.

As big as a house and weighting 1,200 tons, the STAR detector records collision events. The main tracking device in STAR is a large three dimensional "camera" called a Time Projection Chamber (TPC). It has 137,000 active sensors leading to collision “images” of about the same size as an image recorded by a hand-held digital camera like the one you might have at home. Hundreds of such images are recorded per second. It takes up to six minutes for powerful computers to reconstruct a single event, that is, re-trace the path taken by each particle in the detector. To face the enormous challenge of reconstructing such vast amount of potential “QGP pictures” , the computing resources and strategy evolved toward a distributed computing model known as Grid-computing. With this technology, the reconstruction and analysis of such events can be seamlessly distributed to remotely located students and collaborators all over the world with the computing resources needed to analyze them accessible as a “virtual cluster”.

STAR-Events:

Links:
STAR-Homepage
STAR Lite (Education and Outreach)
STAR Live Events
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, Munich

Special Thanks to: 
Dr. Jerome Lauret (BNL) & Valeri Fine (BNL)

INTERNET ART FACADE ART CONCEPT ARTWORK FORUM WEBCAM PRESS CONTACT
ARTIST LAST PERIOD CURRENT PERIOD VERNISSAGE IMPRESSIONS
Haus der Kommunikation
ENGLISH

RHIC und ein neue Form der Materie

Der relativistische Schwerionenbeschleuniger (RHIC) am Brookhaven National Laboratory ist eine internationale wissenschaftliche Forschungsstätte, deren Betrieb nach 10 Jahren der Entwicklung und des Aufbaus im Jahre 2000 aufgenommen wurde. Tausende von Physikern aus aller Welt verwenden RHIC, um zu studieren, wie das Universum in den ersten Augenblicken nach seiner Entstehung ausgesehen haben mag. Viele der in RHIC erzeugten Zusammenstöße produzieren interessante Resultate, aber von einigen wenigen wird sogar etwas ganz besonderes erwartet: eine neue Form der Materie. Das stellt für das Universum nichts Neues dar, aber sehr wohl für den menschlichen Betrachter. Man vermutet, daß es die neue Form der Materie rund eine 10 millionste Sekunde nach dem Urknall (vor 15 bis 20 Milliarde Jahren) gegeben haben soll. Es kann aber auch in den Kernen sehr dichter Sterne, Neutronensterne, vorkommen. Diese Form der Materie wird Quark-Gluon-Plasma, kurz QGP, genannt. Was Physiker von diesen Kollisionen lernen, kann uns helfen zu verstehen, warum die körperliche Welt so funktioniert, wie sie es tut, von den kleinsten subatomaren Teilchen bis hin zu dem größten Stern.

Im Moment habe Experimentalphysiker vier große Experimente an RHIC aufgesetzt, weitere sind für die Zukunft geplant. Bei den zwei größten Experimente, STAR und PHENIX, arbeiten jeweils mehr als 500 Leute. Bein den zwei kleineren, BRAHMS and PHOBOS, sind ein paar Dutzende beschäftigt.

RHIC bringt seinen Strahl mit rund 99.995% der Lichtgeschwindigkeit (186.000 Meilen pro Sekunde oder 300.000.000 Meter pro Sekunde) auf Kollisionskurs, wobei sich für einen kurzen Augenblick die Materie zu einem Milliardenfachen der Temperatur der Sonne aufheizt. Bei derartigen Zusammenstößen werden Tausenden Partikel erzeugt, wovon jedes aufgrund seiner elektrische Aufladung auf seinem Weg durch den Detektor eine Spur hinterläßt.

Das STAR-Experiment
STAR ist eine Abkürzung für Solenoidal Tracker At RTracker. Der Begriff Solenoid bezieht sich auf den zylinderförmigen Aufbau der STAR-Magnetspulen. Tracker bezieht sich auf die Fähigkeit von STAR die Partikelflugbahn über eine größere Distanz zu rekonstruieren, indem es die Teilchen und deren Moment erkennt.

Groß wie ein Haus und 1.200 Tonnen schwer, nimmt der STAR-Detektor diese Events auf. Das Hauptinstrument hierfür ist eine große, dreidimensionale "Kamera", die Time-Projection-Chamber (TPC) genannt wird. Sie besitz 137.000 aktive Sensoren, die Kollisionsbilder in einer ähnliche Größe liefern, wie bei einer zu Hause üblichen Digitialkamera. Hunderte solcher Bilder werden so pro Sekunde aufgenommen. Ein einzelnes Event zu rekonstruieren, nimmt bis zu sechs Minuten an Rechenzeit von leistungsfähigen Computern in Anspruch. Insbesondere wird dabei der Weg zurückzuverfolgt, den ein Teilchen durch den Detektor genommen hat. Die große Menge an potentiellen "QGP Bildern“ stellt einen enormen Rechenaufwand dar, dem mit dem sogenannten Grid-computing begegnet wird. Praktisch können auf diese Weise die Rekonstruktion und die Analyse solcher Events auf Computer auf der ganzen Erde verteilt werden, wobei die Computer von Stundenten und Mitarbeitern ferngesteuert zu einem "virtuellen Cluster " zusammengeschlossen werden.

STAR-Events:

Links:
STAR-Homepage
STAR Lite (Education and Outreach)
STAR Live Events
Max-Planck-Institut für Physik, München

Besonderen Dank an: 
Dr. Jerome Lauret (BNL) & Valeri Fine (BNL)